About Responsible Conduct of Research at UCSF

Training in ethics and the responsible conduct of research, often simply called "RCR," is an integral component of education at UC San Francisco. Furthermore, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture all require their grantees to fulfill formal RCR training to ensure the quality and integrity of their research.

You can identify the appropriate training program for you by selecting the above landing page for your respective group--Clinician Scientists, Faculty and Program Administrators, Graduate Students (in both basic and social sciences), and Postdoctoral Scholars and Research Staff.

RCR Contacts at UCSF

Biomedical Science (BMS) 214 
RCR course for Basic Science PhD students

Elizabeth Silva
Associate Dean of Graduate Programs
BMS 214 RCR Course Director

Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (CTSI) 
Online RCR course with live stream discussion for Clinician Scientists and Social Science PhD students

Marsha Michie
Assistant Professor, UCSF School of Nursing
CTSI RCR Course Director

Barbara Koenig
Professor, UCSF School of Nursing
Director, UCSF Bioethics Program
CTSI RCR Senior Course Advisor

Asha Robertson
CTSI RCR Course Manager

Responsible Conduct of Research Course for Postdoctoral Scholars (RCR-PS)

Christine Des Jarlais
Assistant Dean for Postdocs and Career Development
RCR-PS Course Director

Office of Ethics and Compliance

Brian Smith
Associate Vice Chancellor, Interim Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer

Joan Doherty
Assistant Director, Ethics and Compliance

Vanessa Ridley
Chief UCSF Health Compliance Officer, Clinical Enterprise Compliance Program

Kendra Aiken
Manager, Conflict of Interest Program

Laurie Harraiz
Director, Human Research Protection Program

Institutional Animal Care & Use

Investigations Unit
Cheryl Addleman
June Castle

Assistant Research Integrity Officer, Research Integrity Office
Kelly Simmons

Office of Innovation, Technology, and Alliances (ITA)

Irene Shin
Interim Director, Industry Contracts

Jim Kiriakis
Interim Director of ITA

Karin Immergluck
Executive Director, Technology Management

Peter Kotsonis

Stephanie Marrus
Director, Entrepreneurship Center